Learning is Fun. Promise.

Creativity, Education, Learning, Learning Performance, Motivation, Teacher Resources

“I don’t love studying. I hate studying. I like learning. Learning is beautiful.”

Natalie Portman

I was so disheartened last night after a twitter conversation with @tesbehaviour that I fancied crawling under the bedcovers, only resurfacing for flapjacks and custard creams – the two best things in the world.

I didn’t do that, of course, tempting as it was but I did have a cup of tea with custard creams – any excuse.

A well – respected educational resource with a large following said “learning can’t always be fun.” Five trigger words that makes me want to leap onto my moral horse and gallop into the teaching battlefield screaming ‘Infidels! Fun Learning War!’ 

I am a realist. I do realise that not every lesson will be a roller coaster of rip – roaring laughter. We are teachers, not stand-up comedians. So it is important to realise ‘fun’ doesn’t just mean mucking about.

‘Fun’ is defined as something that brings pleasure or enjoyment.’  Synonyms are; interesting, engaging, & gratifying.

Surely that is exactly what learning should be?! 

To argue students misbehave because they are bored or think its funny is missing the point. Pupils shouldn’t be bored or having to seek their amusement elsewhere. Lessons that engage, interest and gratify students demonstrate that education and school has tangible value. And when we value something, we pay attention and work hard.

It doesn’t take much energy, time, planning or imagination to make learning fun and yes, this includes even so – called ‘difficult’ subjects like Maths or Science. See Lesson StartersRevision Games & Creative A – Maps for some quick & adaptable ideas.

And a big thank you to Miss Sykes & Helan Victoria who shared their enthusiasm for learning and preventing me from falling into a custard cream coma.

What we learn with pleasure, we never forget. 

3 thoughts on “Learning is Fun. Promise.

  1. Any time… All I can say is read my blog and I’m sure people will get the idea that lesson that engage gain far for for the students, parents and teachers alike. Thanks for the mention and continue to have fun.

    LONG LIVE FUN!

  2. I’m reaching for two packets of custard creams!
    What is going on over there? I’m in New Zealand.
    Our school uses the Virtues system for behaviour issues.
    We use the language of the Virtues, upbeat, positive and affirming.
    It is not pink and fluffy stuff it is highly motivating and builds self-confidence and belief.
    We have used it for 6 years now and I believe we now have a lovely, positive school.
    In the last 6 years we have had 4 stand downs.
    Our children love to learn, they are happy and talented.
    Doesn’t hurt that we are on the beach too!!
    Thank you for being passionate enough to make a difference. Well done!

Leave a Reply

